Composition and organisation


BEREC is composed of the Board of Regulators. The Board of Regulators is composed of the heads or nominated high-level representatives of the NRA established in each EU Member State with primary responsibility for overseeing the day-to-day operation of the markets for electronic communications networks and services.

The Commission, the EFTA Surveillance Authority, the heads of the NRAs from the EEA States and from the States that are candidates for accession to the EU also participate in the work of BEREC at a high level.

The Board of Regulators appoints its Chair and Vice-Chairs from among its members. The term of office of the Chair and of the Vice-Chairs is one year. Before serving her/his term as Chair for one year, the Chair has firstly to serve one year as a Vice-Chair. For ensuring continuity of BERECs' work, the Chair has to serve as a Vice-Chair for the year following her/his term as Chair.

Every year the Board of Regulators appoints the Chair for the year subsequent to the following year and the Vice-Chairs for the following year.

The BEREC Chair for 2016 is Dr. Wilhelm Eschweiler – Vice-President of BNetzA (Germany), who was elected at the 21st Plenary Meeting (4-5 December 2015, Brussels).

The BEREC Vice-chairs for 2016 are the following:

  • Mr Sébastien Soriano, President of ARCEP (France), was elected as BEREC Chair 2017;
  • Dr Fátima Barros, President of the Board of ANACOM (Portugal), who was BEREC Chair 2015;
  • Mr Angelo Marcello Cardani, President of AGCOM (Italy);
  • Mr Henk Don, Member of the Board of ACM (The Netherlands).

Information about all BEREC Chairs in the period 2010 - 2016 can be found here.

Expert Working Groups

According to BEREC Rules of Procedures the Board of Regulators is assisted by a working group called Contact Network composed of senior representatives of the BEREC NRAs and representatives of the European Commission and the EFTA Surveillance Authority. The Contact Network is chaired by a representative of the Chair of the Board of Regulators. The 2016 BEREC Contact Network Chair is Ms Annegret Groebel from BNetzA. 

The Contact Network ensures the coordination of the proposals to be considered by the Board of Regulators and the BEREC Office Management Committee. The Board of Regulators may decide to delegate some of its duties to the Contact Network.

In addition to that, the work of BEREC is organised into Expert Working Groups, which work on specific topics included in the BEREC WP or arising of Ad Hoc basis, following request for advice or opinions from the EU Institutions.

Structure of BEREC and BEREC Office